Faith Portfolio

Kali Brasseur's Faith Portfolio

Modeling Church Teaching

Leave a comment

I try to model Church teaching by helping others, being generous with my time, and being compassionate toward all people.  I try to help out around the school when I’m needed, and I’ve spent some time with a number of school groups including volleyball and basketball teams, Best Buddies, and drama.  I also volunteer my time to do SADD drive homes, and help with other SADD events like dances.  I spend a lot of my time offering tutorials to students, and I do this because I believe that it shows the students that the teachers at our school care about their success.  I believe that we need to be compassionate and caring, try our best to model ourselves after Jesus Christ.

My sister and I at this year's pride festival.

My sister and I at this year’s Pride festival.

I believe in volunteering my time to causes that I feel passionately about.  Over the past two years I have been involved in Yellowknife’s Pride festival, of which my sister in an organizer.  I have volunteered my time helping them plan and advertise the event, and run it by selling merchandise or food/drink.  I play a very small roll in it, but I believe it’s important to stand up for the dignity of all people, and that as Christians it is vital for us not to judge others.  We need to stand by our brothers and sisters who are being persecuted all around the world, and speak out against the evil that is being directed at them.

My sister and I, with Jennifer and her daughter Terra at Pride 2012.

My sister and I, with Jennifer and her daughter Terra at Pride 2012.

“If someone is gay, who searches for the Lord and has goodwill, who am I to judge?” – Pope Francis

I think that it’s important for us, as a faith community, to focus on what’s important.  I believe that our faith and Jesus guides us to love one another unconditionally, and to show that love to one another.  In Matthew 22:36-40, Jesus tells us that the two most important commandments are to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart” and to “Love your neighbour as yourself.”  This is what I try to do, and I believe that it hurts our faith and our relationship with God to focus on negativity.

Leave a Reply

